#Riverdale – My New Obsession

Ok, soooo, let’s talk about Riverdale! OMG! This is my new favorite thing! I mean, it has been a while since anything has sent me into the deep dark recesses of the interwebs with this much obsessiveness.

* Cough* Dragon Age: Inquisition *Cough*

(Looking at you Solas!)

Tumblr, fan fiction, YouTube, you name it, I’ve already looked.

Ok, so full disclosure. While I know of the Archie comics, I have never really read them, other than the odd comic strip in the newspaper. So while I know who the characters are, I don’t really know them. I know there’s a love triangle between Archie, Betty and Veronica and I know that Jughead is the sarcastic friend. Other than that I am coming into this series knowing very little about the source material.

Now, I had really not planned on starting a new show. Work is crazy, I have a book to edit and another one to finish, plus mummy duties and wifey things. But, about a week ago, after a long, long week I started Riverdale. It was purely by accident!

My son had just gone down for his afternoon nap and I was supposed to be editing, or at least doing some reading. (I’m in a bit of a reading slump right now) But I was sooooo exhausted, so I turned on the Netflix. Browsing through I noticed that Riverdale came up in my featured shows. I figured it would be just another teen drama type thing and thought I’d watch one episode just for something to do.

And down the rabbit hole I went…

Am I sorry? Not at all, I even dragged my good friend down with me. Sorry, not sorry D 😉

I was hooked from the very first episode! I love everything about it, so expect more posts about Riverdale!

P.S. I ship Betty and Jughead so hard! #bughead4eva (There will totally be a future post about these two cuties)

Have you seen it yet? What did you think?

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Love this show too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. errinkrystal says:

      Right! How great is it! Have to wait until after work tonight to watched the new episode though, lol. It really have been ages since a show has got me this excited. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will watch it today on Netflix! Woohoo!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. errinkrystal says:

        I’ve seriously watched it 3 times already. I have a problem, lol . So in love with Jughead lol. Totally my favorite character .

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know I love him. So wasn’t expecting them to pair him off with Betty! Very interesting lol

        Liked by 1 person

      4. errinkrystal says:

        It’s definitely different from the brtty, Archie Veronica triangle. I love them together so much. They are so cute and perfect… which is what worries me 😐

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Cynthia says:

    …jughead is aromantic and asexual which is canon in the comics & the show erased his identity… pls address aromantic erasure if you’re going to gush about riverdale & understand why it’s so problematic (try #aroacejugheadorbust on twitter)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. errinkrystal says:

      There are multiple versions of the Archie universe. Jughead is confirmed as asexual in just one so far. The comic has been around since the 1940s and there has been multiple incarnations of the character. In the earlier versions Jughead was a misogynist, but he generally always had a bit of a soft spot for Betty since the very early days calling her special and even being flirty with her. In some versions he had girlfriends. In another version of the Archie’s Jughead is married. In another he’s a zombie.

      They have not changed his sexuality in the latest version of the comics and Riverdale is just a different universe again. I’m pretty sure Archie wasn’t sleeping with Ms Grundy in the comics either, and Jason wasn’t murdered either.

      I like what I like and I like the Riverdale Jughead, and I personally like the Betty/Jughead relationship.
      🙂 🙂 🙂

      Like

      1. Cynthia says:

        he’s very much coded as aromantic in the comics. i haven’t read them, but i’ve gathered from twitter / google that he’s a touch-averse aromantic asexual. (aromantic =/= asexual btw). at least acknowledge the fact that the relationship is problematic & erases part of jughead’s identity…

        Like

  3. ignitedmoth says:

    I’m really liking this show too, and I agree: Betty and Jughead all day, every day! ❤

    Like

    1. errinkrystal says:

      Omg, so adorable! Too much cuteness! Archie better not ruin this for me, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ignitedmoth says:

        lmao Right?? Haha I am so dreading that too! 😛

        Like

Leave a Reply

