Author Interview – E. Rachael Hardcastle

 

img_2918

About The Author

Hi, I’m Rachael.

I’m a dreamer, a deep thinker, a bookworm and grammar nerd.

I write poetry between imaginative high fantasy, post-apocalyptic and science fiction novels.

I believe that through writing we face our darkest fears, explore infinite new worlds and realize our true purpose. I write to entertain and share important morals and values with the world, but above all, I write to be a significant part of something incredible.

All my fantasy and post-apocalyptic books face our planet’s struggles because I believe that together we can build a stronger future for the human race.

I support independent publishing so all my stories are written, edited, formatted and published by me, offering a low-cost, epic adventure and a memorable escape from reality for my readers.

 Your novel is called Finding Pandora: Book One: World what can you tell us about it?

The book is the first in a series of twelve high fantasy adventures, following Arriette Monroe as she hunts for Pandora’s Box.

What inspired you to write this book?

William Blake’s poem Auguries of Innocence. ‘To see a world in a grain of sand, And a heaven in a wild flower, Hold infinity in the palm of your hand, And eternity in an hour.” World, Heaven, Infinity and Eternity are books 1-4.

Were there any parts of this story that were particularly difficult to write?

The story is quite complex. Each small book (50,000 words) has a subplot, with an overall story line for the entire series. Ensuring each of these was resolved to my readers’ satisfaction was the hardest part.

Do you have a favourite character? Tell us about them.

My favourite character is Arriette Monroe. She’s a human-turned-Supe and the next leader of the Recruit, so she has a lot of responsibility. I tried to give her a plenty of personality and make her fun for young adult readers to follow.

What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your book? Anything weird you needed to research?

I love semiotics, so researching signs and symbols was really interesting. I learned a lot of weird facts and myths too. The books are based on Greek Myth (Pandora’s Box) so I had to research this too.

What would the main character in your book have to say about you?

I don’t think she would like me very much, although people have said we are alike in many ways. I took her from a comfortable life in Mousique and threw her into the centre of supernatural chaos.

What do you love most about the writing process?

Sharing my worlds and characters with others who enjoy the same genres. I write what I would want to read and I’m a very creative person, so the idea generation and writing itself is the best part of being an author.

What was your hardest scene to write?

I kill off a few characters in the book, and each of them was difficult to do. I get attached to all of them, even the minor ones, so I’m always sad when I have to say goodbye.

What is the first book that made you cry?

Mitch Albom’s The Five People You Meet In Heaven.

Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?

I would hope that all my books would be great on their own, but they are part of a series and they should ideally be read in order.

What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

I don’t think I have one. I tend not to read as per trends and when I do I’m late to the party anyway. I do feel that Mitch Albom’s books are more than just paper and words. Each have a lot to teach us.

How many unpublished and half-finished books do you have?

Countless, but those I am trying to complete in 2017 are on my blog and I’ll be updating the word counts each week.

What did you edit out of this book?

I edited a lot out of Finding Pandora: Book One: World because it has gone through so many re-writes and re-releases over the years (due to how young I was when it first came out and the books released since then – extra material, maps etc). All of this was for the greater good and I added in some cool stuff too!

Million dollar question, are you working on another book?

I am always working on another book. Book Four: Eternity is in the works at the moment and I’m concentrating on a high fantasy book too.

What character in your book are you least likely to get along with?

I don’t think Arriette’s neighbor Rihaana and I would get along. She has caused a lot of trouble for Arriette and her boyfriend is a nightmare! Without her, I think Arriette might have had an easier time in book one.

Media Links

http://www.erachaelhardcastle.com/

www.facebook.com/ERHInspired

www.twitter.com/ERHardcastle

Youtube, Goodreads and other social media links are on my website. You can download book one of Finding Pandora FREE here: www.books2read.com/findingpandora

2 thoughts on “Author Interview – E. Rachael Hardcastle

Leave a Reply

