Sarah E. Stevens – Crazy Quiz

Hello! The lovely Sarah E. Stevens is back with us again today and participating in a crazy quiz! Just for something a bit fun and different. So, lets get started shall we?

sarah-stevens

  1. What is your favorite movie/book quote?

“You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.” – Princess Bride

  1. If you could wake up and suddenly be amazing at any new skill, what would it be? Me, I would love to be able to draw.

I would love to be a fantastic hula hooper. I’ve taken some hoop dancing lessons, but I’m not great at it. Wouldn’t it be amazing to be one of those people who can hoop well, with three hoops in the air and on their body and their feet and everything? So graceful? I am not the picture of grace…

  1. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?

Near the ocean, in a place where there is a very diverse community that values the arts, reading, and education.

  1. Plotter or Pantser?

I always have the general plot arc and character development in mind, but I might not know how the story gets from A to B to Z. Also, my characters have been known to revolt on me and drive things in an unexpected direction. (Actually, I love when that happens!!)

  1. Do you believe in aliens?

Yes, but: I do believe some forms of life exists in other places in the universe and I do believe other forms of sentient life have developed or will develop at some point in time. I am dubious we will encounter other sentient life forms near our stage of development in space near enough for us to visit with our current technologies. In all the vast history of the universe, though, there must be other life.

  1. Someone insults your favorite book/movie/TV series, you…?

Go to war? Nah. I mean, that’s what makes the world go around, right? That we each like different things? I happen to think you’re crazy if you didn’t like Battlestar Galactica (the reboot), but you get to make your own choices and have your own tastes!

  1. Vampire or Werewolf?

Well, duh. Werewolf. Like. Obvs.

  1. If you were King/Queen for a day, what would you do? 

Shape the world into a place where social justice reigns, equity and compassion are the most important values, and everyone’s needs are met. I could do that in a day, right?

  1. What would your Superhero name be? 

Captain Anxiety

  1. If you could have dinner with any historical figure (dead or alive) who would it be?

Virginia Woolf! I love her writing, I love her thinking. There’s an Indigo Girls song called “Virginia Woolf” with these lyrics:

They published your diary

And that’s how I got to know you

The key to the room of your own and a mind without end

And here’s a young girl

On a kind of a telephone line through time

And the voice at the other end comes like a long lost friend

 

That’s how I feel about her—that, exactly. I wish I’d known her.

  1. When did you first begin to take yourself seriously as a writer?

Not until about ten years ago. I have always, always loved writing, but I never thought I could be good enough to actually finish a decent novel and have it published. Finally, I realized the greatest failure would be in not trying—giving up before I really tried was the greatest betrayal of myself. So. I declared I was a writer and started writing.

  1. If you could live in any time period what would it be? Why?

Now. There’s been no other time in history where women have had more freedom than right now. A hundred years ago, we couldn’t even vote! I wouldn’t have been able to write or earn money or have property! Perhaps if I could have been born into the richest of the rich in some other time, that would have been cool. But more likely, I’d have ended up some poor peasant at subsistence-level, bearing child after child until I died. Wow, sorry, that got bleak and cynical… But, seriously, when we romanticize earlier times, we almost always imagine ourselves in the position of wealth and power, but that wasn’t the reality for 99% of people.

That said, it would be interesting to travel into the future and see how things change! The future might be better than now.

  1. Favorite movie?

I love The Princess Bride and always will. Recently, my family has become obsessed with the Studio Ghibli anime movies. We’re working our way through those and loving them all. We just watched The Cat Returns, which is a lesser-known work that I recommend you ALL see!!

  1. What’s your guilty pleasure?

Watching Project Runway, eating Kraft mac & cheese, and lazing on the couch reading books.

  1. Three things you cannot live without?

Cats. Books. My family & friends. (Okay. I know. That’s four things. Also: not in that order!!!)

  1. What’s your funniest memory?

Whoa, the funniest memory? I have no idea! How about I talk about things I find funny? Word play. Things taken the wrong way on purpose to make normal conversation hilarious. Juxtaposition of normal and way weird things. Things out of context or people who seem totally staid and boring saying things that are kooky.

  1. Sweet or Savory?

Both! Alternating!

  1. What is the meaning of life, the universe, and everything? 

42

Some great answers there Sarah! Especially the final question, 😉 Thanks for playing!

You can find Sarah @ her Website, Facebook & Twitter

dark-moon-wolf-cover

Dark Moon Wolf is available to BUY from 22.2.2017

Leave a Reply

