Soulless (The Immortal Gene #1)-Jacinta Maree

Title: Soulless

Author: Jacinta Maree

Genre:  Sci-Fi, New Adult, Dystopian

My Rating: 4/5

In a world where death is meaningless, reincarnation rules. What was once considered a gift, has now become the stuff of nightmares. 

The world  is now plagued by reincarnation, where people relive past memories and traumas daily. Madness is the new normal, and even the most wealthy are not immune. Where the crimes of your past lives can condemn you in this one.

Within this crumbling society, is Nadia. One born without any reincarnated memories. The fiery nineteen year old is the ultimate prize to those seeking to end the reincarnation trap and escape the insanity that is swallowing up civilization. To end the cycle, or to evade death permanently.

I’ll admit, I haven’t read a whole lot of science fiction or dystopian for that matter, but I really, really loved this book. So much! And how beautiful is that cover!

I stumbled across Soulless at last year’s Melbourne Supernova. After chatting with the lovely Jacinta Maree on the merits of Bioware games, I picked up a copy of her book. The concept of people remember all of their past lives alone intrigued me. Throw in that Nadia is a new soul, therefore having no previous lives as well as a slow burning romantic subplot and I was all in!

The book sat on my shelf for months, one among dozens of unread titles. But when I finally got around to reading it, I was instantly hooked!

An incredible story! Full of ups and downs, twists and turns, truths and betrayals. Beautifully flawed and complex characters. This book really had everything I could have wanted! And yes, it more than filled my pre-existing need for romance!

I just loved Nadia! She is brash, brave, hot tempered. She is fantastic. In a world where immortality is taken for granted and death is meaningless, Nadia has to fight tooth and nail just to stay alive. She does not have the luxury or guarantee of reincarnation and trusts very few people, and cares for even less. Her one fatal flaw is her love for her sister, which inevitably gets used against her. In a lose-lose situation, Nadia is forced to rely on Diesel, an ex-con and his questionable mental state. He is dangerous, but he is all she has.

Diesel. How could I not love Diesel. He is the ultimate in anti-hero. There is no doubt about it, he is crazy, dangerous and unpredictable. He struggles daily against the onslaught of his reincarnated memories and sees Nadia as his ticket to the world of sanity. It all seems so simple to him. Get her to the Mad Dogs and find a cure for immortality. Yet as his fractured mind continues to shatter, his relationship with Nadia begins to develop into something more.

Nadia and Diesel’s relationship is one of my favorite things in this book. The story is amazing, don’t get me wrong, and the plot alone would definitely have kept me reading. Soulless is certainly a page turner! But I do love romance, and Nadia and Diesel’s is so toxic and flawed I just couldn’t get enough. Neither one trusts the other, yet they have no other choice. A grudging trust emerges, despite everything, and along with it, the first buds of romance. I can’t wait to see how the relationship plays out!

And, just when I was all keen about the budding romance, the books ends on a cliffhanger and I’m left sitting there with my mouth hanging open! OMG! I need to get onto book two ASAP!

A fantastic and highly recommended read! The only issue with this book were the occasional typo, and some of the formatting was a little off, but none of that even mattered. I just loved this book and can’t wait to get my hands on Soul Finder!

You can follow me @ Facebook Twitter & occasionally on Tumblr or check out my Website , I’m also on Goodreads and Instagram

Sign up to my Newsletter to receive updates on my latest books, exclusive content and other exciting news!

2 thoughts on “Soulless (The Immortal Gene #1)-Jacinta Maree

Leave a Reply

