A Court Of Mist And Fury (#ACOTAR #2)- Sarah J. Mass

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre:  Fantasy, Romance, Fairytale Retelling

My Rating: 5/5

Feyre has escaped Amarantha’s clutches, but at what cost? She has returned with her love to the Spring Court, the curse upon the Immortal lands broken and now with the powers of the Fae. But Feyre is broken and haunted by the terrible things she did in order to save Tamlin and his people.

Rhysand, the deadly High Lord of the Night Court, has not forgotten the bargain Feyre struck while trapped in Amarantha’s Court, as he claims the debt owed him. As Feyre learns to master her new gifts, a evil greater than Amarantha looms. 

Oh. My. God! I don’t think I have ever been so wrong about where a story was headed! Or the characters! Such twists, such turns. There was no way I could have predicted where this ended up!

A Court of Mist and Fury was such and incredible read. As much as I loved the ACOTAR, it paled in comparison to ACOMAF. At a whopping 640 pages, it still was not enough! The end came and I was so not ready.

A brilliantly woven story, so many ups and downs. The joys, the sorrows, all of it was just beautiful. There were times when I was laughing out loud. There were times when I was literally swooning over the romance. Times when I was in puddles of tears and times when I literally felt like I had been gut punched.

“That I will bow before no one and nothing but my crown.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury

But it was worth every minute.

Such wonderful, intriguing characters! Tamlin and Feyre were both majorly affected by there time Under the Mountain, both of them undergoing some drastic character development. In some ways it was both beautiful and painful to watch as Feyre struggles with her new found power. Her struggles were very real, and Maas’s writing had me struggling right there along side her.

We meet the members of the Night Court, Mor, Azriel, Cassian, Amren, and I fell in love with every single one of them. This tight knit group have been together for over 500 years, and the interwoven relationships are and absolute delight to navigate. The epic slow, slow burn that is going on between Mor and Azriel is just… ugh, they are killing me, lets face it! Mor, the highborn lady and Azriel, the lesser Fae. Yup. Killing Me!

“Azriel would likely love Mor until he was a whisper of darkness between the stars.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury

And the banter between Feyre’s sister, Nesta and Cassian is just, priceless.

“Why should I bother defending myself,” Nesta said with lethal cold, “to a male who is so puffed up on his own sense of importance there’s barely enough space in the room for his enormous head?”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Mist and Fury

But lets not forget Rhysand! (I am sorry I ever doubted you Rhys!) Such an incredible complex character. His story, his history, definitely sitting at the top of my favorite characters of all time list. I dare you not to love him!

And the ending! WOW! My jaw was literally hanging open during the last chapters of ACOMAF, sitting in a pool of tears. This book absolutely ruined me, leaving me with one of the biggest book hangovers of my life. I could think of nothing else for weeks! My heart was broken in so many places.

Now, all is left to do is await the release of A Court of Wings and Ruin, and to piece myself back together before then.

You can follow me @ Facebook Twitter & occasionally on Tumblr or check out my Website , I’m also on Goodreads and Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

