A Court Of Thorns And Roses (ACOTAR #1)- Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre:  Fantasy, Romance, Fairytale Retelling

My Rating: 5/5

Nineteen year old Feyre, is a huntress. Forced to hunt on the border of the immortal faerie lands to keep her family from starvation, Feyre does the unthinkable. She kills a wolf, and soon after, a faerie beast comes to collect on the life debt she now owes for killing a magical creature. Feyre is taken from her home into the faerie courts, where she is expected to live out the remainder of her days with her captor Tamlin. As the months pass, Feyre’s feelings gradually transform into something else. Could she truly be falling in love with the one who claimed her life?

But an ancient evil spreads itself across the faerie realms, Ferye must do all she can to end the curse tainting the immortal courts, and save Tamlin and his world.

I have been hearing great things about Sarah J Maas for quite a while and finally decided to pick up A Court of Thorns and Roses and give it a try. There were two things I realized very early on.

Firstly, this book is written in first person! Yikes! Now I’ve never really enjoyed first person narrative, I have always felt restricted with only a single POV. BUT, since I had heard so many awesome things about Sarah, I decided to give it a proper go.

And I was not disappointed!

I was quickly swept up in the hardships of Feyre’s life, living in poverty, her self taught hunting skills the only thing standing in the way of her family starving to death. For this story, it works. I could feel Feyre’s desperation as she killed the wolf, even while suspecting the creature was more than what it seemed.

And second, ACOTAR is a fairy-tale retelling of one of my favorites! Beauty and the Beast! If I weren’t already hooked from the first page, this alone would definitely have kept me reading.

I just adored the blossoming relationship between Tamlin and Feyre, watching it unfurl in the first half. He trying to woo her, while she remains confused by his stilted and awkward flattery and flirtation, but also with plenty of danger and passion. It’s just the perfect blend of romance and passion between these two.

“You look . . . better than before.”
Was that a compliment? I could have sworn Lucien gave Tamlin an encouraging nod.
“And you hair is . . . clean.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

So many brilliant characters in this book! Tamlin and Feyre are just so great, and I just loved Lucien. And then there’s Rhysand… This character left me feeling very confused about my feelings. There’s… Something about him, this faerie with which darkness clings to like a second skin. I just, don’t know. I am uncertain of his motivations and his actions and behavior left me utterly bewildered. But, I kind of loved him, against my will I loved him.

“His short black hair gleamed like a raven’s feathers, off-setting his pale skin and blue eyes so deep they were violet, even in the firelight.”
Sarah J. Maas, A Court of Thorns and Roses

So we’ll have to see where Rhysand fits in the grand scheme. Will he be an enemy to Feyre and Tamlin? Or an ally? I hope he sticks around.

If you like fairy-tales, romance, and magic, unexpected twists and turns, dark secrets and curses, then I’d definitely give this one a read. I could not put it down!

You can follow me @ Facebook Twitter & occasionally on Tumblr or check out my Website , I’m also on Goodreads and Instagram

2 thoughts on “A Court Of Thorns And Roses (ACOTAR #1)- Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

