The Infernal Devices #1: Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare

Title: The Infernal Devices #1: Clockwork Angel

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Steampunk, Fantasy

My Rating: 5/5

I absolutely loved this book! I loved the characters, I loved the plot and I just adore Cassandra Clare’s writing. So beautiful.

Tessa Gray, has left her home in New York to travel abroad to live with her brother in London, where she is promptly abducted the second she sets foot on English soil and forced to hone a previously unknown power. Tessa is subsequently  rescued by the devilishly  handsome, William Herondale (swoon) and swept off the the safety of the Shadowhunters Institute where she discovers the truth about the Shadow World and the pandemonium club. There she meets the sweet and fragile James Carstairs (cue more swooning). The two boys quickly work their way into Tessa’s heart.

Such brilliant characters. Will Herondale, wild and mercurial with his dark moods and hurtful words, keeps everyone and everything at arms length, except his Parabatai, his blood brother. Jem Carstairs, with his love of music and a painful secret of his own, is the only one excluded from Will’s razor sharp tongue. While Tessa, struggles with the secrets of her past, grappling to discover those unbeknownst even to herself.

“One must always be careful of books,’ said Tessa, ‘and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.’

‘I’m not sure a book has ever changed me,’ said Will. ‘Well there is one volume that promises to teach one how to turn oneself into an entire flock of sheep-‘

‘Only the very weak minded refuse to be influenced by literature and poetry,’ said Tessa, determined not to let him run wildly off with the conversation.”
Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

I’ll say it, this is the best love triangle ever! It is everything I could ever want, and I hated it! It was torture. Beautiful, exquisite, perfect torture. In most cases, favour is skewed slightly more toward one boy or the other. Not in Clockwork Angel. Even on all counts! Out of the two, I love Jem just that little bit more, and totally want him to get the girl every time they were together. Then, Will would show up and I would totally want her to be with Will. The fact that Will and Jem have such a close and beautiful bond did not help. There was no rivalry, so you cannot help but love both.

So many confusing feelings! I did not envy Tessa falling for both these incredible guys, I dare you not to fall in love with them both too.

“A sort of good-bye without saying good-bye,” he said. “It is a reference to a passage in the Bible. ‘And Mizpah, for he said, the Lord watch between me and thee when we are absent one from another.” – Jem Carstairs
Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

The subtle little nods to Clare’s previous series, The Mortal Instruments  were everywhere, and just tied the past in with the future perfectly. Insight into Magnus and Camille’s previously mentioned relationship, Isabelle Lightwood’s demon necklace and my favorite, the origins of church, that grumpy old Persian that haunts the New York  institute.

So many great moments, most of which will tug hard on your heartstrings. Jem’s secret, Will’s self destructive behavior (those Herondales!), Jessamine’s desire to live a normal mundane life away from the Shadow World and Tessa’s desperate need to save her brother. One of my favorite scenes though has to be Tessa and Jem on the bridge. As I said before, Jem is my favorite, so pretty much any scene with Jem. 🙂

All round great plot, I cannot wait to see what the Magister has planned. His clockwork creatures are decidedly creepy and slightly terrifying. Plot twists and shocks I never saw coming and plenty of action and romance.

If you decide to read these books, and I seriously recommend you do, make sure you have access to tissues and a stress ball. Because this book will frustrate you to no end. And you will love it.

You can follow me @ Facebook Twitter & occasionally on Tumblr or check out my Website , I’m also on Goodreads and Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

