The Mortal Instruments #6 – City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare

Title: The Mortal Instruments: City of Heavenly Fire

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Young Adult, Urban Fantasy

My Rating: 4/5

Possible Spoilers is you have not read the previous books.

In the gripping final installment, Sebastian Morgenstern is now in possession of the Infernal Cup, turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter as he builds his ranks of Endarkened warriors. The Nephilim withdraw to their homeland, leaving the world unprotected from demons.

Jace, Clary, Simon, Isabelle and Alec are forced to flee to the demon realms, after the Nephilim suffer an unforgivable betrayal at the hands of those who were their allies, and to bring back their loved ones. Facing off against Sebastian once and for all.

After the disappointment of City of Lost Souls (I struggled to get through book #5) I was so excited for a return to form. Once again I was hooked back into the Shadow World instantly, and already frustrated (in a good way) with the romantic lives of the characters. Jace and Clary barely being able to touch, Alec and Magnus nursing broken hearts, and Simon and Isabelle still refusing to determine their relationship. The romantic entanglements of our resident Shadowhunters is one thing I love about this series (I do love romance), yes, even when Jace and Clary thought they were brother and sister it was such delicious torture.

So many twists and turns in this book, and I have several favorite moments most of which are Jace/Clary in the demon realms and pretty much any scene with Alec/Magnus. Love those guys! But one of the most interesting things I loved was about a certain Silent Brother, whose identity and story slowly unravels throughout this book.

One thing I will say is this, please, please, please make sure you have finished reading the Infernal Devices trilogy before reading City Of Heavenly Fire. Trust me, just do it. Certain things will make much more sense.

I just loved this book, and the only thing I probably didn’t really enjoy were Maia’s chapters. I just found I wasn’t overly invested in the werewolf/vampire story lines when there was so much else going on. I didn’t mind the Emma/Julian chapters, as I know it was setting up the nest series, but I found myself skimming over them ocasionally to get back to Jace and the gang.

I laughed, and I cried so, so much. And the ending? Truly brilliant! Just amazing. It was just a perfect ending to such a brilliant series.

 

Leave a Reply

