Falling In Love All Over Again: A Bookish Fairytale

Ever find yourself, looking back at your life and wondering what happened? Every find yourself dreamily reminiscing of past loves? Remembering the good old days you use to spend together. Lying out in the sunshine, or cuddled up by the fire on a cold winters day as if you were the only two in the entire world.

Just you and your book.

There was a time when all I needed in my life were books. It was a bit rough going in high school for me, I endured no end of bullying by my so called ‘friends’ at the time, and I found my refuge in books.

When I was 11 years old, I discovered the Animorphs. A young adult (YA is a tad different nowdays) sci-fi series where a group of kids encounter an Andelite, (pretty cool alien) and gain the ability to morph into animals, in their attempts to thwart an alien invasion by the Yeerks. I loved these books, and read them for about 4 years, as well as the Everworld series (both series by K.A. Applegate). I would finish the book in a single weekend, then have to anxiously wait for the next book! Thankfully they came out pretty regularly.

When I got to about 14, I started to get a little restless with the series and promptly moved on to more grown up books. I realised years later I stopped reading Animorphs about 5 books from the end of the series!

At that point I moved on to mum’s historical romance novels. Johanna Lindsey, Kathleen Woodwiss, Shirley Busbee. Loved them! I fell in love with romance, (and learned all about the birds and the bees). By this stage in life I would easily devour 2-3 novels over the weekend. I couldn’t get enough. It got to the point where my dad would make me sit outside and read just so I could get some fresh air. I even read a few of dad’s Wilbur Smith’s and Bryce Courtney. I read The Power Of One and River God (I also had an Ancient Egyptian obsession) when I was 13 on our way to Queensland.

By 16 I was in love with the classics. The Bronte Sisters, Jane Austen, Alexandre Dumas, Oscar Wilde, though I never could get into Tolkien… LoTR… For some reason I just couldn’t get through it.

And I was totally mad for Anne Rice! Thus starting my love of vampires.

But things started to slip away when I got to year 12. I had a crap tonne of books to read for school, I was taking English and English Literature. Between the two classes I had, The Girl With The Pearl Earring, No Great Mischief, Streetcar Named Desire, Arcadia, and about 6 others I can no longer remember the name of. Girl With The Pearl Earring was the only one I liked. Being forced to read 9 books I hated was difficult, I had no time to read anything I wanted. Thus began the reading slump that lasted many, many years.

I read on and off over the years, re-read some of my favorites. I would go through phases. In my early twenties I discovered Trudi Canavan’s Age of The Five series and promptly read the whole trilogy in a week. Around 2008, I had my wisdom teeth out and read the whole Harry Potter series in a week, to my sisters outrage, who had to wait for them to be released. I was ‘too grown up for kids books’ when they came out… Yeah, I actually said that… I think I still have the egg on my face…

I loved the Hunger Games novels, my first foray into YA fiction. Then, again didn’t read much after that. By this time I was married and working full time at a very, very busy winery and could barely remember my own name I was so exhausted, let along read. I tried… I ended up reading the same line over and over for like half an hour.

(This is a very similar story between me and writing too.)

It wasn’t working out between me and books, so we parted ways.

It was probably a good 5 years before I picked up another book.

So, about a year ago, my sister started reading Cassandra Clare’s, The Mortal Instruments. She loved them, and recommended them for me. I hummed and ha’d for a few months before I decided to give them a go.

Well, it was the best thing I could have done, not only did I fall in love with the characters instantly, (Alec, *swoon*) it also inspired be to write again!

The reading bug had hit again. I powered through the first four novels in a few months. Yes, I was a bit slower, but that’s ok. But then, last month I read the Captive Prince series, (TMI is a six book series, I needed a break) and finished book five! That’s four books in a month!

Now, in that time I wasn’t reading, I became a TV addict. In the last six weeks, I’d be lucky if I’ve watched 3hrs of TV. I’m reading lots, writing lots, and have become a little obsessed with bookstagram (I’m trying my hand at it myself), and I’ve started reviewing the books I’ve read on this blog.

To put it plainly, I’ve fallen in love again.

And I couldn’t be happier.

You can follow me @ Facebook Twitter & occasionally on Tumblr or check out my Website , I’m also onGoodreads

 

 

One thought on “Falling In Love All Over Again: A Bookish Fairytale

Leave a Reply

