Monthly Wrap-Up: August 2016

Yep! I’m going to start the monthly wrap up thing! Here goes!

Life Stuff

I took up YOGA, which was very random of me. I’m really not much for strenuous exercise, my job keeps me on my feet a lot, so yes, a bit random of me, and yes, yoga is hard, BUT I’m kind of loving it. Which is good cause I really need to look after myself better. Sleep. Eat. Exercise. Ugh, maintaining your health it such a monotonous chore at times. I kind of wish sometimes we could just plug in a recharge. I think there was a Doctor Who episode last season about that…Sleep No More S9E9… Hmm… on second thoughts, maybe that’s not such a great plan.

On that note, I also tried this new thing called a reasonable bed time… It was strange at first, 11pm came and I just… turned the lights out… weird. I tried this for a few nights and the strangest thing happened. I felt…rested. I haven’t felt that in literally years. I have a tendency to operate in this limbo between tired and exhausted, so feeling rested? It was amazing! I wasn’t cranky, I read several books, I wrote a tonne and generally felt awesome! Might try to make it a permanent thing.

Work has been steadily getting busy, (wedding season is almost upon us!) I’m back to my regularly scheduled programming. No more breakfast shifts! While it was a nice change of scenery, I really, really am not a morning person. Which kind of sucks when Mr 2 wakes up at 6:30 in the am every morning!  So, anyway, on top of the steadily building workload, I agreed (volunteered) to cater a family member’s 60th birthday. Now, normally I love doing these things for people, but this time, I just didn’t have fun, as I was just sooo tired (even with extra sleep). 😦 We are short a chef at work, and the powers that be don’t feel the need to get a replacement, (fantastic plan with wedding season coming up BTW). Anyway, it all went off without a hitch, people loved the food, meanwhile, I was absolutely exhausted.

Passport photos! Yep, in preparation for our US trip in November I need a new passport, which means, new passport photo. It’s horrible, I look like a criminal, I’ll be surprise if they let me through customs, ugh. Though, after 16+ hours on a plane with a 2yo, it’s probably an accurate depiction of what I will look like…

Writers Life

OK, OK, OK firstly, I received my signed publishing contract back for The Last Dragon Rider! Still sooooo does not feel real! I filled in my Manuscript Information and Covert Art forms, so now just patiently wait (yeah right!) for the first round edits to come back.

(I’m still having nightmares about that giant red pen!)

I wrote a whole chapter in four days! This was accomplished because of that whole being rested thing. Turns out it helps me write better when my eyeballs are not dangling from my head, who knew? Also got started on chapter 17 too, yay!

August Word Count: 6, 751, not too shabby.

On a sadder note, I had to make the decision to close down my Patreon site, so unfortunately, there will be no more Midnight Redemption update. 😦 I just do not have the time to pursue all of my projects right now, full-time work and being a mum gives me limited time as it is, so I need to be focusing on getting my current WIP finished. I am not shelving it for good, and I hope to be able to work on it on the side, but for now, Rayven and Violette will have to wait to have their story told.

Speaking of my current WIP, *tries not to cry* it turns out the main characters, are not my main characters! So, now I need to re-plot at least half of what I have (83+ thousand words…) which is kind of depressing, but exciting at the same time. Though it means several characters will get the chop, including one that was originally a main character… *here come the tears* (There will definitely be a full post about this.)

August Blogs

Writers? Artists? Bloggers? Interested in showcasing your work? 

The Daring Adventures Of Adric Drysten #3: Prison Break

Saturday Showcase: Writing Prompt Fun With Lo-arna Green

Review – The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith

Saturday Showcase: Writing Prompt Fun With Weirdo

The Blood Rose (A Fairy-Tale Retelling)

Saturday Showcase: Writing Prompt Fun With E.R. River

Too Much Morality In My Video Games: Mass Effect Series

Books Read

FOUR BOOKS! I READ FOUR BOOKS!

I spend a lot of time in a permanent exhausted state, so for me this is amazing!

The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith – I was sent a free copy of this book by the author in exchange for a review. I was happy to say, it was a nice little read. I rather enjoyed it.

Captive Prince Trilogy by C.S. Pacat (Captive Prince, Prince’s Gambit & King’s Rising) – OMFG! I absolutely loved, loved, loved, this series. I felt so lost when I finished it, I enjoyed it so much I didn’t want it to end. I seriously think Laurent has just become my favorite book character!

Damen & Laurent ❤

September Goals

Read at least another four books! Ideally I’d like to finish all the Cassandra Clare novels. City Of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) and City Of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) The Infernal Devices Trilogy and Lady Midnight.

Have my WIP re-plotted and hopefully at least a chapter finished.

Get more sleep, pick up a second yoga class, eat less crap.

If I manage to complete this, I may even reward myself with a new Video Game… I’ve been thinking No Man’s Sky looks interesting…

Oh, and I totally want to try my hand at Bookstagraming!

E.K

You can follow me @ Facebook Twitter & occasionally on Tumblr or check out my Website 

One thought on “Monthly Wrap-Up: August 2016

Leave a Reply

