Murder In Absentia – Review

Title: Murder In Absentia

Author: Assaph Mehr

Genre: Fantasy, Mystery, Historical, Paranormal

My Rating: 4/5

13823335_1031427536893465_1500629117_n

Assaph Mehr’s Murder in Absentia, is a tale of murder, mystery and magic. A historical fantasy, set in Mehr’s ancient Rome-like world of Egretia. Follow Felix the Fox, as he unravels the gruesome and mysterious murder of a young man, his demise steeped in necromantic dealings.

Felix navigates his way through the seedy dealings of secret societies as well as rubbing shoulders with high ranking politicians, his sharp wit never faltering. Seeing Felix outwit those of higher education than he, was something that kept me laughing throughout the book.

He encounters an eclectic bunch of colourful characters ranging from street performers, ex-gladiators, and well respected senators. Though one of my favorite characters, (besides Felix himself of course) is Araxus. Though Felix’s own brief stint at the magical collage has left him with his own small amount of magical ability’s, he is forced to call upon his former friend. Their interactions, as well as glimpses into Felix’s own tragic past, are among some of my favorite scenes. Those, as well as a certain scenario involving gladiators.

Mehr’s story kept me thoroughly intrigued throughout the entire novel, though I will admit to it taking me a little bit to wrap my head around the roman language in the first few pages, it is easy enough to grasp the meaning in the context of the book.

I absolutely loved how the magic was woven into this story. It is simply a part of everyday life, used for things as mundane as cooking and detecting weather patterns. I do love all things magic related and I adore the contrast between these everyday tasks and the dark workings of necromancy. Mehr also seems to be a master of writing the squishy bits, and I found myself more than once squirming in my seat during a few scenes, but in an entirely good way, I assure you.

All in all, it was a fantastic read, especially since I am not usually one for murder mysteries, but the mix of fantasy, history and magic intrigued me and I am so glad I picked up Murder in Absentia and gave it a chance. Felix kept me entertained and guessing right up until the last page.

So, if your a fan of fantasy or mysteries or both, I would highly recommend you check out Murder In Absentia, you wont regret it.

You can find out more about Assaph Mehr or read his Felix short stories through his Website.

You can find your own copy of Murder in Absentia HERE

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Pingback: The Bookish Writer
  2. Anindita@A Bohemian Mind at Work says:

    Awesome interview! I have read and reviewed Murder in Absentia. Loved this book and the worldbuilding.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. errinkrystal says:

      Thanks! It was great read, can’t wait for book 2.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Anindita@A Bohemian Mind at Work says:

        Me too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

