Rosalie Redd Blog Tour : First Stop, Author Interview

I have the great pleasure of welcoming Rosalie Redd to my blog today. This is the first stop on her blog tour, promoting her latest novel Unforgettable Lover: Worlds of Lemuria: Earth Colony. We’ll get the ball rolling with a little bit about the author.

Meet Rosalie.

After finishing a rewarding career in finance and accounting, Rosalie Redd put away the spreadsheets and took out the word processor. She writes Fantasy/Science Fiction Romance inspired by classics from the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres layered with a good, hot dose of romance.

She lives in Oregon, where rain is just another excuse to keep writing. When not at her computer, you can find her at Jazzercise, waterfall collecting in the Pacific Northwest, or relaxing with her husband and their pesky cat, Snookums.

 

13487763_1755461308042480_1664673732_n

And now, the interview.

When and why did you begin writing? Have you always written?

I guess I’d have to go back to my days of watching the Young and the Restless as a teenager. (Please, don’t judge me…) I grew up on that show, watching it with my mom after school. I really loved how the characters interacted, the tension, the buildup, the first kiss. There was always a twist in the plot and the cliffhangers at the end of every scene kept me hooked. But that’s not a book, you say! Right, but it got me to pick up my first romance novel. I think it was a book by Danielle Steele and I moved on to other authors from there. Thanks to my dad, I grew up on sci-fi, fantasy, and horror classics by Herbert, Heinlein, Asimov, Tolkien, Poe, Shelley, Stoker, and King. It wasn’t too hard of a stretch to put the two together. I wrote a few things for some high school classes, but nothing for many years after that.

 

When did you first begin to take yourself seriously as a writer? Is it something you always wanted to do?

Story bunnies have hopped around in my head for years, but I didn’t start writing seriously until 2014. That’s when I decided to join Romance Writers of America and start taking a bunch of classes. I took two to three online classes a month through various RWA chapters from subjects such as character development and plotting to marketing. Just about any topic sounded good and I soaked it up!

 

What inspired you to write your first book?

I’m fascinated with forgotten cultures and ancient alien myths. There are many archaic structures throughout the globe that align with the stars and the sun on the summer solstice. The most famous is Stonehenge in Great Britain, but also the pyramid at Tikal in Guatemala, and the Osirieon temple in Egypt. How did these ancient civilizations have the technology and knowledge to create these structures to align so perfectly with the sun and the stars? Perhaps we were visited in the past by aliens? Certainly, food for thought.

 

Your latest books is called, Unforgettable Lover: Worlds of Lemuria: Earth Colony, what can you tell us about it?

Mankind has always had a fascination with the moon. Rumors and myths abound about odd behavior happening during the full moon including births, deaths, and random acts of craziness. Just think what could ensue when a full moon takes place during a summer solstice. Occurring approximately every 30 years, this phenomenon happens this year on June 20th, 2016.

While thinking about my story world, I had to wonder. How would this affect my alien characters that are here from the planet Lemuria to battle over Earth’s water? The answer—the power of the full moon on a summer solstice brings out their beasts along with an uncontrollable urge to mate. The Betram ritual was created to provide an outlet for all this…ahem…sexual energy.

Unforgettable Lover is about two young Stiyaha who succumb to the force created by the full moon on the summer solstice and partake in the Betram ritual. Hiding behind masks they conceal their identities, but neither can forget their night of passion.

Unforgettable Lover is a prequel novella in the Worlds of Lemuria: Earth Colony series.

 

Do you have a favourite character? Tell us about them.

My favorite character in Unforgettable Lover would have to be Prince Nicholai.  He has much to overcome if he is to find true love. I’ll leave it at that.

Were there any parts of this story that were particularly difficult to write?

I think it’s always a challenge to introduce readers to new worlds and new characters, so world building is important. For me, the challenge is to make sure there’s enough detail and history, yet not too much. It’s a fine balance…

 

Tell us little about your writing process. Do you plot extensively? Or do you take a more ‘fly by the seat of my pants’ approach?

Hands down, I’m a plotter. Once I have a general idea about a story, I spend some time getting to know my characters filling out details about their lives and their backstory. Then, I work on the overall plot, eventually getting down to a scene by scene outline. Sometimes, the characters take  over and do unexpected things, and I love when that happens!

 

Who are some of your favourite authors?

J.R. Ward is my absolute favorite author. She does an outstanding job at building characters. I also like Lynn Viehl and Jacquelyn Frank, both are great at world building. Other favorites include Steven King and Jean Auel.

 

What advice would you give to those pursuing a career in writing?

Advice…hmmm…don’t give up, don’t let anyone say you can’t, and learn as much as you can about the writing craft.

 

I’d just like to take a moment to thank Rosalie for her time today, I’ve already purchased my copy of Unforgettable Lover, and am eager to read it myself.

 

Excerpt: Unforgettable Lover: Worlds of Lemuria: Earth Colony

Murmurs from the crowd picked up. Titters of ‘Prince’ and ‘Nicholai’ were clear, even above the din.

She picked up brush after brush, trying to contain her mess. With her one good hand, she scooped as many as she could back into her container.

“He’s moving faster, coming our way.”

Two more brushes and she put the cup back on her short table. Her rapid breaths fueled the adrenaline that surged through her body.

“Very nice. Is this yours?” Nicholai’s deep voice resonated into her chest.

As she tried to calm herself, his unique scent of cloves and rain filled her lungs. Melting on the inside, she remembered all that he was, all that he’d done to her. She refused to look at him for fear he’d recognize her.

“Y…Yes.” She managed to get the words out, but they were husky, strained.

“You have a nice eye for detail. Have you other paintings?” He stepped closer to inspect her canvas. She caught a glimpse of his profile. His high cheekbones and aquiline nose exemplified his handsome features. He turned toward her.

She caught her breath. Those deep blue eyes were the ones she remembered, the ones she’d imagined in her dreams the past couple of nights. His brow furrowed, and she realized she hadn’t answered his question.

“I do. Have more paintings.” She turned toward her stack of completed pictures, but knocked the cup of brushes off the table.

Like twigs upon the rocks, they bounced and jogged before coming to rest on the stone floor. “I’m…sorry.” She bent down to pick them up—again.

He lowered himself on one knee and picked up a handful of brushes. Just as she reached for one, he did as well. His finger ran along hers, lighting up the skin along their connection.

 

You can find Rosalie @ WebsiteFacebookGoodreadsPinterestAuthor Page

You can find Unforgettable Lover Worlds of Lemuria: Earth Colony here:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A2JDJM4/

http://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B01A2JDJM4/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01A2JDJM4/

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1071655075

https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/unforgettable-lover-worlds-of-lemuria-earth-colony

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unforgettable-lover-worlds-of-lemuria-rosalie-redd/1123197520?ean=2940152798449

 

Check out the other stops on Rosalie’s blog tour!

06-25-16 Sheila Hoag – Character interview
07-02-16 Lucinda Hawks Moebius – Author spotlight
07-09-16 Nancy W Moors – Guest post
07-16-16 Dawn Chapman – Guest post

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

