I’m Not Bored, I’m Reading!

What is it about a person with a book that makes people think, “Oh, she’s reading, she must be bored. I must save her from the tedium that is expanding her mind?”

For me, there are few things more precious (my family obviously) than finally finding that right moment where everything falls into place and you can just settle back, relax and disappear for a short time into another world. These moments are few and far between for me these days.

Currently, I am attempting to read the historical fantasy Murder In Absentia by my friend Assaph Mehr. Now I say “attempting” as I started the book about three weeks ago. Whats the hold up you ask? Whats wrong with the book that it’s taking so long?

Well, I will tell you.

Firstly, there is absolutely nothing wrong with the book, and I would highly recommend it to fans of historical and mystery alike. I was hooked from the first chapter, necromancy, mystery, how could I not be? And I just love Felix the Fox and his unique ability to ferret out information.

The problem is the parade of people who almost seem to lurk in the shadows until I’m all set the escape reality, to decide now is the time for that deep and meaningful conversation because (in their words) I look bored…

I mean, I’m chilled, I’m relaxed, I have a book (or tablet) held up to my face and I’ve successfully blocked out the rest of the world.

Naturally, I’m bored out of my brain and must be saved!

NOT!

I find this most happens when I’m just minding my own business, having my tea break at work, kicking back in the ridiculously comfy armchairs.

My day hasn’t been stressful at all, please, come interrupt my quiet time.

So, if you see me deeply engrossed in some far off fictional reality, let me tell you, I am in no need of rescue. I have been swept away on an adventure, helping solve a mystery or am caught up in a sweeping romance.

I am by no means, bored!

E.K

Check out Murder In Absentia  By Assaph Mehr

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Alfonzowords says:

    Here here! I totally relate to that.
    Reading is one of the best things ever. In fact I would do it all day, every day if I could.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

