Broken Brains, Procrastination & My New Plan

I’ll be the first to admit that my writing schedule can be a bit all over the place, sometimes non existent. But I take the chances when they arise.

Whipping up a few lines at the kitchen table during the morning chaos that is breakfast time whilst my son sits in his high chair a tosses his peanut butter toast about the place.

Typing up a few words on my phone between cleaning up said toast and trying to bring some semblance of order back to the war zone that is my house. I’ve even been known to write entire scenes using OneNote while in the shower!

Admittedly there are other times when I’m just tired and really have difficulty stringing together the most basic of sentences.

Hence why I was so excited when I managed to pump out 20,000 words for NaNoWriMo.

But, since then, I haven’t managed to write a whole lot because of two main reasons:

#1 I’m pretty sure I broke my brain in November. I felt utterly drained afterwards. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Aside from the exhaustion, I felt great about my achievement. But, I couldn’t think straight for several days. I’d sit in front of the computer and nothing.

But that’s OK, I deserved a break. I worked hard, right? True. But this has lead into the second reason I haven’t written much lately.

#2 Procrastination. Now I am no stranger to procrastination. I’m a procrastinator from way back. I’m very good at it. Ok, yes I work, but only two days a week. Yes, I have a toddler, but he naps for two hours a day and is in bed at night by 7:30pm. Yes, I get tired, but I can go to bed earlier. And my husband is entirely supportive of my writing.

So, as you can see, there really isn’t a valid excuse to not be at least doing a little bit of writing each day. I have the time. I have the ideas. So why am I not writing?

As I told you I am an excellent procrastinator, plus Netflix has become my worst enemy…

But the longer I go without writing, the easier it is for the self-doubt to creep in. When I’m writing I don’t think about it, when I’m not writing, its all a bit insane in my head.

I am my own worst critic, as are we all.

So that comes to my New Plan.

I’ve decided the new year is as good a time as any to start fresh. Along with the usual resolutions such as eat better, exercise more and generally improving my health, I am going to try harder at this writing thing. Especially since I have an editor interested in my novella, I should probably get my butt into gear and finish the novel that follows.

I’ve written up a loose schedule for my writing, dedicating specific days for specific projects. Blog, Second novel, my urban fantasy collaboration and I’m even toying with starting up a patreon in which I’ll have a serialized story. (more on that in my next post)

I’m even going to try and keep Twitter and Facebook updated regularly and try and figure out exactly what to do with my dormant/only used once Instagram account…

Since I wont be posting again before Friday I would just like to wish everyone a very Merry Christmas!!!

E.K

 

Leave a Reply

