NaNoWriMo Week 3, 4 And…No More

Well, as you all know, I participated in this years National Novel Writing Month, which  drew to a close earlier this week.

To those  who reached the magic number of 50,000 words and beyond…

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

To those who, like myself, did not reach the magic number…

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

I was asked recently by a friend if I was disappointed that I didn’t quite reach my goal (I had set myself a smaller goal of 30,000).  I had worked extremely hard, squeezing in every spare second I  had to tap madly away at my computer. My final tally being 20,051 words.

Ok, let me put that into perspective for you.

I chose to continue work on a novel I have been working on for three years now. Yes, that is a long time. In that time I had written 7 chapters (almost 40,000 words). Keeping in mind during those years I was busy working the stupid hours of a chef, and had a baby. So I have been kept somewhat busy and not really having  tonne of time to dedicate to my writing.

So, 7 chapters in three years, right? Well, I just wrote four and a quarter chapters in one month!

It took me six months to write a 26,500 word novella.

I just wrote 20,051 words in a single month!

So, was I disappointed with my word count?

Definitely not.

Could I have done better?

Possibly, although I did do final edits on my novella and submitted my manuscript to a publisher. I also spent a wonderful weekend with a couple of my good friends frolicking about Sydney and the Doctor Who Festival. The time sacrificed was worth it and I did do some writing on the long, long train ride, but that’s a story for another day. I was extremely happy with my 20,051 words and 42 pages.

I would consider my twenty thousand a number to be proud of. And because I was adding to a current work in progress, I was able push it over the 60,000 word mark!  Kick starting a novel that had lain dormant for far too long.

But…perhaps next  year I can reach 25,000?

EK

 

 

Leave a Reply

