Week Two NaNoWriMo : Momentum Lost

As the title of this post states. I lost a bit of momentum coming into the second week of NaNoWriMo.

The week started out well enough, but then just started rapidly deteriorating and never really got any better.

It started out with an unusually busy work week. Wednesday and Thursday dinner services were insane this week at the pub. All these people just showed up out of the woodwork. How rude!

So, only small amount of writing was accomplished.

I also picked up some extra work on Monday and Tuesday helping out a friend of mine. I had a great time baking Florentines and Melting Moments, (very yummy) and a little bit of extra pocket money before the Christmas crazy times begin is always nice.

But, alas, by this stage of the week I was just exhausted on every level, and that was just from work. Add in an overactive toddler and regular every day chores and I was utterly wiped. So no writing at all on these two days.

The rest of the week didn’t really get any better. I racked up a little over 5,000 words last week as opposed to over 10,000 the first week.

But, it wasn’t all bad. I did receive the good news about my manuscript. If you missed my last post, an editor requested my first three chapters.

And I appear to have gotten back on track. Back to approx 1,000 words a day, so yay!

Excuses, excuses I know. But I am doing better already this week. Lets see if I can beat 5,000 words this week.

E.K

Leave a Reply

